Post 9

When I think of the rewards or profits of using presentation software in a K-12 setting I think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. One advantage is being able to use technology in the classroom to teach a lesson. I think it is very important to incorporate technology into the classroom. Using a PowerPoint or interactive Webquest is a perfect way to teach students using technology. Another advantage is that teachers are able to provide a lecture and have a presentation to supplement it. This can be helpful when teachers want to show visuals or examples. One disadvantage could be that students cannot really interact when the teacher is using a premade presentation. Another disadvantage could be that students with certain disabilities would not be able to learn as well using presentation software as they could if the teacher was using a pen or paper. These disadvantages can easily be fixed by making the presentation interactive or including aspects that can cater to certain learning strategies.

The digital divide is the disparity between people that have access to a computer and people who do not. I think that I am strongly on the side of people who have access to a computer and have had access since they were younger. Ever since I was in about 2nd grade I have had full access to a computer and have known how to use it pretty well. Once a week in elementary and middle school we would have Computers where we would learn important skills regarding technology. We often practiced how to type and learned how to use Word and other important applications. During middle and high school I was often given work that needed technology, so I am use to it by now. I think the digital divide will have less of an impact in the future than it does now and in the past. Technology is continually rising and the access to computers is becoming more widespread. But, if I do find that I am faced with a digital divide I will do my best to incorporate learning with technology in the classroom daily so that students are at less of a disadvantage when they go into the work force. I will take note of who does and does not have access to a computer. I will also not give homework that requires access to a computer.

An issue that interests me concerning educational technology would be the lack of skills that some teachers possess when it comes to technology. Older teachers that did not grow up in a technology based learning experience are lagging behind on skills needed to teach their kids using technology. I think this is an issue because some students in the same school as other students could be learning using technology while the other students have a different teacher and are not using technology. I think it is important for teachers today to be up to date on technology for the classroom so that their students do not fall behind in later years.

Below is a scholarly article on technology for teachers. It talks about how teachers are actively trying to integrate technology into teaching and the difficulties some teachers may face with that.

http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/pdf/10.1080/14759390000200096

Comments:

https://sdb11j.wordpress.com/2015/03/08/blog-post-8/comment-page-1/#comment-23

https://ach13b.wordpress.com/2015/03/06/blog-post-8/comment-page-1/#comment-31

4 thoughts on “Post 9

  1. I 100% agree with you that using presentation software in K-12 setting gives both the teacher and the students a large advantage. The presentation can supplement a lecture, clarify things with pictures as well as provide instant links to information you want to share with them.
    In terms of the digital divide I think its much more than owning or not owning a computer. I also have had a computer since they were introduced and I self taught myself everything I could in addition to having computer classes daily starting in 2nd grade and going until high school. However my parents who lived in the same household do not quite grasp a lot of technology the same that myself and my brothers do because there is a divide between their generation and ours in terms of learning curve on technology. I think this divide is quickly getting smaller as the older generation is forced to use technology for work, and as the new generation is growing up with it everyday. The new generation is always going to be slightly ahead of the curve because of school and the extra free time they have to try and experiment with the new technologies.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Blog 9 | sdb11j

  3. Older teachers and those who did not use technology growing up have a harder time using technology in their classrooms. This can cause problems, especially in this day and age, because of how heavily the new testing, and test prep rely on technology.

    Like

  4. I’m glad to see you mentioned how technology can help students with disabilities. We’ve discussed adaptive technologies in a couple of weeks before, and nowadays most software programs are designed with consideration of the accessibility of users with disability. Actually, they have certain standards to help design and develop programs with this issue in mind. If you are interested in this topic, you can take a look at some relevant articles, e.g., http://www.washington.edu/doit/sites/default/files/atoms/files/Designing-Software-Accessible-Individuals-Disabilites.pdf

    Like

Leave a comment