Post 7

I would like to maintain a course Website as a teacher if it were an older grade that had regular access to a computer. I would like to use a collaborative blog online where I could post homework and other materials and students could ask questions regarding the material. I think this would be perfect for grades 4-12. If it were any younger grades I do not think it would be worth the trouble. I think course Websites are important because they allow students to learn in different ways and collaborate with other students. I feel like they could be useful if they were used properly. As a teacher I would have to monitor anything being posted or added and make sure all safety precautions have been taken on the site. If I feel like my class could post responsibly and learn from the Website then I would be all for it. If I feel like they would not take it seriously or it would be too much regulation for me, I would not want to engage in that.

A tool that I found interesting and would most likely use it in a classroom is Diigo (https://www.diigo.com/). Diigo can be used to share resources over a collaborative site. When reading articles or papers you can even use annotation tools to highlight or comment on something. I think this would be something I could use because if I find an article on there for students to read, they can comment or ask questions on it as they read. They can also share it with other students to see.

I think Web 2.0 could be useful in K-12 education. I still believe, like what I said earlier, that collaborative learning or posting on Websites would only be effective for older grades. I do not see Kindergarteners being able to collaborate and share things with classmates. Nor do I see younger grades being able to navigate a computer on their own. I think the most useful tools for the older grades would be blogs or wikis. I am not the fondest of Twitter use for learning, so I think the most success would come from either a blog or a wiki.  With a blog I can regulate what is being posted and commented and I feel like there is more creativity there. With wiki I feel like the students could collaborate on assignments either at home or school.

For the Web Evaluation assignment I learned how to create an evaluation form and use it to evaluate four websites. I liked how we could cater the form to fit the assignment or resources we were looking for. I liked how we could evaluate the website for anything that we found necessary. I did not like having to come up with some of the bullet points on my own. For next time I would be more specific to the resources I was evaluating. I feel like the one I made could be used for a vast number of assignments, which might actually prove to be a good thing.

web evaluation

Comments:

https://erinfinnegan793.wordpress.com/2015/03/01/blog-post-5/comment-page-1/#comment-9

https://sls12h.wordpress.com/2015/02/26/blog-6/comment-page-1/#comment-3

2 thoughts on “Post 7

  1. I agree with maintaining a course website, although I think that at this point almost all students are required to have some sort of access to computers at all ages (1-12). The majority of students now have to do either research online, type papers in Microsoft word or do a presentation in power point. With that being said I think almost everyone has access to a computer and there is no real excuse why students of any age would be unable to check the course website for updates, documents etc.
    The biggest advantage I see to a course website at a younger age is it’s your communication with the parents, you can post due dates, calendars, schedules and lesson plans so the parents are aware of what is going on in the classroom without having to ask their child or the teacher on a regular basis.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Blog Post 7 | sdb11j

Leave a comment